Joanne Hayes-White (President)
Public Member

Joanne Hayes-White was appointed by Governor Newsom to the Board of Pilot Commissioners for the Bays of San Francisco, San Pablo and Suisun on June 20, 2019. Ms. Hayes-White was chief of the San Francisco Fire Department from 2004 to 2019, where she served in several positions from 1990 to 2004, including overseeing the Support Services Division, the Neighborhood Emergency Response Team Program, and the Training Division and Dispatch Communication System. Ms. Hayes-White is a member of the Presidential Public Safety Officer Medal of Valor Review Board. Ms. Hayes-White’s appointment fills a public member position on the Board, and her term expires on December 31, 2022.

Jennifer Ferrera Schmid (Vice President)
Public Member

Jennifer Ferrera Schmid was re-appointed by Governor Newsom to the Board of Pilot Commissioners for the Bays of San Francisco, San Pablo, and Suisun on December 2, 2020, to complete the term of a prior Board member.  Her second term with the Board will expire on December 31, 2023 .  Ms. Schmid will fill one of three public member seats on the Board.  She brings extensive administrative and maritime expertise to the Board.  She has been a member of the Oakland Fire Department since 1998, promoting to the rank of Lieutenant in 2018, where she has also served in Engineer and Firefighter/Paramedic positions. She was a deck officer for Chevron and BP from 1994 to 1998.  Ms. Schmid graduated from the California Maritime Academy with a Bachelor of Science in Business Administration and Intermodal Transportation and is a 2nd Mate and 1600 Ton Master in the U.S. Merchant Marine. Over the past 15 years, she has served as an instructor for the California State University Maritime Academy on several training cruises, teaching leadership and officer development to cadets. She has completed coursework at Long Beach State University for her Master of Science in Criminal Justice.

Ms. Schmid worked to develop a police and fire marine tactical group in Oakland to facilitate a more cohesive relationship between the two agencies. She has written grants and proposals for the fire department in which the union of police and fire agencies was instrumental. She worked with the nonprofit Police and Fire: The Fallen Heroes from 2010 to 2020, serving as Board Secretary and assisting with logistics, social media and website management.

Capt. Robert Carr
Pilot Member; San Francisco Bar Pilot

Captain Robert Carr was appointed by Governor Gavin Newsom to the Board of Pilot Commissioners for the Bays of San Francisco, San Pablo, and Suisun on September 12, 2019.  Captain Carr began the pilot training program in 2011 and has served as a pilot for the San Francisco Bar Pilots since 2013.  He was employed at Chevron Shipping Company and sailed in their US domestic and international flag fleets from 1990 to 2011. He was promoted to Master in 2006.  Captain Carr served in the United State Navy Reserve from 1990 to 2002.  Captain Carr’s appointment fills one of two Board-licensed pilot positions on the Board, and his term expires December 31, 2022.

Dry Cargo Industry Member

Capt. Einar Nyborg
Pilot Member; San Francisco Bar Pilot

Captain Einar Nyborg of Ukiah was reappointed for a second four-year term to the Board of Pilot Commissioners for the Bays of San Francisco, San Pablo and Suisun by Governor Newsom on March 23, 2021. Captain Nyborg was previously appointed to the Board by Governor Brown and served a first term on the Board from February 24, 2017 through February 29, 2021. Captain Nyborg represents one of two Board-licensed pilot members on the Board. He has been a pilot at the San Francisco Bar Pilots since 1995. Previously, he was a harbor tug captain at Crowley Maritime Services from 1991 to 1995, tank vessel deck officer at the Keystone Shipping Company from 1989 to 1993 and first officer and deck boss for Arctic Alaska Seafoods in 1988.

Capt. Oscar Prada
Tanker Company Operations Member; Chevron Shipping Co.

Captain Oscar Prada was appointed by Governor Newsom to the Board of Pilot Commissioners for the Bays of San Francisco, San Pablo, and Suisun on June 20, 2019. Captain Prada is currently a marine superintendent at Chevron Shipping Company, has held this position since 2014, and has held various mariner positions for the company since 1990. He obtained his San Francisco Bay federal pilotage endorsement from the United States Coast Guard in 2005, and was promoted to captain at Chevron in 2007. He served as a member of the U.S. Naval Reserve from 1990 to 2002. Captain Prada’s appointment fills an industry member position on the Board representing the field tanker company operations, and his term expires on December 31, 2022.

Karen F. Tynan
Public Member

Karen F. Tynan was appointed to the Board of Pilot Commissioners for the Bays of San Francisco, San Pablo and Suisun by Governor Gavin Newsom on January 13, 2021. Ms. Tynan has been Counsel at Ogletree Deakins since 2018. She was Owner of the Law Offices of Karen Tynan from 2009 to 2018. Prior to that, she worked in associate counsel positions with regional employment law firms from 2001 to 2008.  After graduating with honors from the United States Merchant Marine Academy, she worked for Chevron Shipping Company for ten years from 1987 to 1997 – sailing as a ship’s officer on oil tankers rising to the rank of Chief Officer with her Unlimited Master’s License as well as San Francisco Bay pilotage endorsement.  Ms. Tynan was the highest-ranking woman in the Chevron fleet when she left Chevron to pursue her legal education.  She served as Lieutenant in the U.S. Navy Reserve from 1987 to 2000.  Tynan earned a Juris Doctor degree from Empire College School of Law.  She is the founding counsel for the Committee for Equity for Women’s Surfing and has served on a variety of school and non-profit boards during the last twenty years.

David S. Kim
Ex Officio Member; Secretary, California State Transportation Agency

David S. Kim, was appointed as the Secretary of the California Transportation Agency by Governor Newsom on April 24, 2019. Kim was vice president of governmental affairs at Hyundai Motor Company since 2017. He served as deputy administrator of the U.S. Department of Transportation’s Federal Highway Administration from 2016 to 2017, where he was associate administrator of policy and governmental affairs from 2011 to 2016. He was deputy assistant secretary for governmental affairs at the U.S. Department of Transportation from 2009 to 2011. Kim served as deputy executive officer of federal advocacy and governmental relations for the Los Angeles County Metropolitan Transportation Authority from 2004 to 2009, and as deputy director of the Washington, D.C. Office of Governor Gray Davis from 1999 to 2003. He was deputy assistant of congressional affairs for the Office of the U.S. Trade Representative from 1998 to 1999 and a legislative representative for the City of Los Angeles, Office of the Chief Legislative Analyst from 1995 to 1998. Kim was senior legislative assistant in the Office of Congressman Xavier Becerra from 1993 to 1995, and an administrative assistant in the Office of California State Assembly member Xavier Becerra from 1990 to 1992. Kim was a field deputy in the Office of California State Senator David Roberti from 1985 to 1990. He earned a Master of Public Administration degree from the University of Southern California.


Contact Information

Board of Pilot Commissioners For the Bays of San Francisco, San Pablo, and Suisun
660 Davis Street
San Francisco, CA 94111
TEL (415) 397-2253
FAX (415) 397-9463

  Website Accessibility Certification